PDA

View Full Version : Elevated food dishes for Danes

Meepie
01-09-2005, 09:46 PM
Hello, I am a total newbie. My husband and I just got "Large" :* from the local Great Dane Rescue about a week before New Year's. He is about 10 months, 120 lbs, blue merle, and we are in love with him! If we had known Danes were so loving, we would have had them long ago!
We are concerned about getting an elevated food dish. I have read that for Danes, you may need as high as 26". That is hard to find and very expensive. We got a storage dish at PetSmart that was 12" with screw in food dish, and he figured out how to unscrew it right away! Seems that point on his head means he is extra smart! So I don't think that kind of dish will work. And he is forceful when he eats so that putting it on a chair ends up with it all over the floor unless closely attended.
Any advice?
Thanks!

justmekimberley
01-09-2005, 09:57 PM
My pup is only thirteen weeks. I haven't purchased an elevated bowl yet. I'm going to have my man make one out of wood, then we can dowel extentions on it as The Count gets bigger.

Congrats on your new baby! I recently got my first dane also, although I've wanted one my whole life.

Edited to congratulate because I have no manners.

sine123
01-09-2005, 10:02 PM
First of all, welcome to the many joys of being a Great Dane owner!

As for the elevated food dishes, you shouldn't need one as high as 26", 16-20" should do.

A very nice, great and inexpensive solution is to buy plant stands at Home Depot, Walmart etc. They work great.
You can also choose to buy or make a 'bench' out of wood which is what we have for Victor.
I'm sure you will get lots of excellent ideas since Great Dane owners seem to be rather innovative.

andipanda
01-09-2005, 10:44 PM